Regional Alumni Representatives

Globe in Suzzallo Reading Room
Globe in Suzzallo Library graduate reading room

The Department maintains a list of alumni living outside Washington state who serve as regional representatives for UW Economics. Alumni in this role support fellow alumni and current Economics students by acting as professional and social contacts for their city or region.

Regional representatives might, for example, meet with a new graduate who is moving to that city to share insider tips, coordinate happy hour get-togethers for other alumni in the area, or provide information about the area and its industry to our students on the job market.

Students: please read this *information for students* interested in contacting a regional representative.

Upcoming Regional Alumni Events

UW Economics regional representatives:

California 

Angela Cappocia
UW Economics MA '12
Statistical Data Analyst, SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union
Los Angeles, CA
ascapoccia@gmail.com

Paul Ng
UW Economics BA ’75, UC Berkeley (Boalt Hall) JD '78
Director, Capital Markets (retired), NHSA
Los Angeles, CA
fincase@yahoo.com

Nathan Patterson
UW Economics BA ’05
Manager – Tax, KPMG
San Francisco, CA
nathanpatterson@kpmg.com

Celine Sun
UW Economics PhD ’13
Research Scientist, Wealthfront Inc.
San Francisco, CA
sun.celine@gmail.com

Gene Tien, PhD
UW Economics BA '94
Director of Economics, Baker & McKenzie Consulting
Palo Alto, CA
gene.tien@bakermckenzie.com


Colorado

Sean P. Evers
UW Economics BS ’06
Programs Manager, Capital Sisters International
Denver/Boulder, CO
spevers@gmail.com


Illinois

Evan Sadler
UW Economics BS '14
Data Scientist, Civis Analytics
Chicago, IL
easadler@gmail.com

Charles Cox, PhD
UW Economics BA ’67
Senior Vice President, Compass Lexecon
Chicago, IL
ccox@compasslexecon.com


Michigan

Owen Nie
UW Economics BS ’12
Doctoral student in economics, University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
nieo@umich.edu 

Tab Morin
UW Economics BA ’84
President, Paranda, Inc.
Detroit, MI
tab.morin@yahoo.com


Minnesota

Sean Clark
UW Economics BA ’96
Senior Health Systems Engineering Analyst, Mayo Clinic
Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN
clark.sean@mayo.edu


Missouri

Tony Granillo
UW Economics BA ’79
Senior Manager, Information Technology, Boeing
St. Louis, MO
Granillo327@gmail.com


New York • UW Alumni Association NYC Chapter

Gregory Johnsen
UW Economics BS ’12
Research Assistant, Peter G. Peterson Foundation
New York, NY
gjecon@gmail.com

Jamie Goh
UW Economics BS '12
Analyst, Fitch Ratings
New York, NY
jamiegpc@gmail.com


Oklahoma

Mark Sullivan
UW Economics BS ’06
Financial Adviser, Merrill Lynch
Oklahoma City, OK
msullivan6@ml.com


Oregon • UW Alumni Association Oregon Chapter

UW Alumni Portland Facebook Group

Robert R. Richards
UW Economics BA ’61
Economist
Bend, OR
bobrmi@aol.com


Pennsylvania

Andrew Everett
UW Economics BS '09, BA Mathematics '09
Graduate Research Fellow, University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
apdge@uw.edu


Texas • UW Alumni Association Texas Chapter

Brent Grundberg
UW Economics BA ’06
Founder and Partner, Glendale Energy Capital
Houston, TX
brentgrundberg@hotmail.com


Utah

Audrey Lam
UW Economics BS ’13
Analyst, Goldman Sachs
Salt Lake City, UT
yuwei.lam@gmail.com


Washington D.C. / Northern Virginia

George Carlson, PhD
UW Economics BA ’64
Retired Director, Deloitte Tax LLP
Washington, D.C.
gncarlson7@gmail.com

Matt F. Bonorden
UW Economics BA ’05
Foreign Areas Economics Analyst
Washington, D.C./N. Virginia
mattbono.us@gmail.com


International

Layth Matthews
UW Economics BA ’82
Senior Mortgage Adviser & CEO
RateMiser Mortgage Advisers
Victoria, British Columbia
layth@ratemiser.ca

Kenneth Piercy
UW Economics BS ’03
Attorney, The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis, and Malaria
Geneva, Switzerland
kenneth.piercy@gmail.com

Bruce Wang
UW Economics PhD '07
Co-Founder and CEO, Elysia Group LLC
Taipei, Taiwan and New York, NY
brucewang@gmail.com

Cailyn Torpie
UW Economics BA '12
Graduate student, London School of Economics
London, England
crtorpie@gmail.com

Steven Sankaran 
UW Economics BS ’12
MBA student, Cambridge University
Cambridge, UK
steven.sank@gmail.com

Check out the UW alumni association’s list of international alumni contacts (all majors and fields).


Regional representatives are vital to the Department’s connection with our alumni, who in turn are essential to the current and future success of the Department. Regional reps help build the visibility of the Department across the country. We just need one person to get a network started in your city – or join with another alumnus where you live and help strengthen our connection there!

Questions? Contact the Department via email or 206-543-5945.