The Department of Economics is proud to present the 2020 Virtual Graduation Celebration!


The Department of Economics Graduation Celebration is usually the time of year when all corners of our department gather together to celebrate the accomplishments of each years’ graduating class. Unfortunately, the global covid-19 pandemic prevented us from gathering this year. But, thanks to the dedication and hard work of our staff and faculty, we are proud to present the 2020 Economics Virtual Graduation Celebration!

The decision to cancel any in-person graduation celebrations was not one that was made easily. University Leadership listened to the advice of healthcare professionals and research scientists in order to conclude there would be no safe way to gather during this pandemic. Since early May, staff and faculty throughout the University have worked tirelessly in order to create the best products possible to honor our graduates. The University of Washington’s full ceremony took place virtually on June 13th at noon.

The Department of Economics Virtual Graduation Celebration became viewable on June 11th, 2020. While a virtual ceremony was no one’s first choice, we are proud to be able to celebrate the great achievements of the Class of 2020 in the safest way possible. Over 300 people were able to watch the virtual ceremony, and growing! The link will be active for several weeks. A live virtual ceremony was considered, but with so many students all over the world, we wanted everyone to have the chance to watch the ceremony at their leisure.

The Celebration is made up of several videos; a welcome message from Fahad Khalil, the Department Chair, the Keynote address from our 2020 Distinguished Alumnus, Ramanan Laxminarayan, the announcement of our PhD recipients, a word of thanks to our Economics Undergraduate Board, and the recognition of the 2020-2021 award and scholarship recipients. The videos are followed by slides of our participating Bachelors of Arts and Bachelors of Science Graduates.


Thank you to the staff and faculty who worked tirelessly to create this Virtual Celebration! Fahad Khalil, Ramanan Laxminarayan, Dennis O’Dea, Haideh Salehi-Esfahani, Ahna Kotila, Simon Reeve-Parker, Meg Hamele, Ellen Gregoire, Patrick Pineda, Jon Mitchell, Robert Young, and Koi Nil.