Department of Economics Mentors

2016-2017 Economics Mentors


Ken Altena
Senior Vice President & Commercial Banking Manager, Umpqua Bank
UW Economics BA ’83
ken.altena@usbank.com
Mentor since: 2013


John Brondello III
CEO, Time Equipment Company
UW Economics BA '93
john@timeequipment.com
Mentor since: 2016


Gary Brose
President, US Dispatch and Creative Consulting Corp.
UW Economics BA '75
gary.brose@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Isaac Cameron
Consultant, Slalom Consulting
UW Economics BS '13
isaac.cameron@outlook.com
Mentor since: 2015


George Carlson, Ph.D. *based in Washington, D.C.
Senior Adviser (retired), Deloitte Tax LLP
UW Economics BA '64
gncarlson7@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2013


David Carroll
Vice President and Branch Manager, Banner Bank
BS '91 Business Administration, Southern Oregon University
dcarroll@bannerbank.com
Mentor since: 2015


Nelson Del Rio, JD
Founder and Chairman, Prosperity of the Commons International
UW Economics BA '84, JD Harvard Law '87
nelson.delrio@icloud.com
Mentor since: 2016


Gerilyn Denny
Financial Advisor, Morgan Stanley
UW Economics BA 
gerilyndenny1@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Scott Douglass
Senior Global Finance Analyst, Wunderman
University of Puget Sound, Politics and Government (minor in Economics) BA '11
scottdouglass@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Richard Ekman, JD
Attorney, Ekman Cushing Maxwell P.S.
UW Economics BA '71, UW JD '74
r.ekman@ecm-law.com
Mentor since: 2016


Andrew Everett, MS *based in Philadelphia, PA
Graduate Research Fellow, University of Pennsylvania
UW Economics BS '09, BA Mathematics '09
apdge@uw.edu
Mentor since: 2016


Rebecca Gee
Sr. Supply Planner, Starbucks Corporate
Penn State Industrial Engineering MS '12
rebecca.finland@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Todd Geiger
IT Strategy Advisor, KPMG LLC
UW Economics BA '90, Certificate in International Economics
toddgeiger@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Susan Gellatly
Principal, Gellatly Leadership Coaching
University of Virginia, BA Economics and Finance '82
susangellatly@me.com
Mentor since: 2016


David Griswold, JD
Chief Counsel and CCO, Pacific Current Group
UW Economics BA '79
dgriswold@paccurrent.com
Mentor since: 2011


Craig Hanson
Financial Advisor, Unionview Investment Group
UW Economics BA ’09
c.james.hanson@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2014


Gabe Hanzeli
Director of IT (retired), The Boeing Company
UW Economics BA ’76
gaborh@comcast.net
Mentor since: 2011


Kevin Ho
Digital Consulting Analyst, Accenture
UW Economics BA '16
lungzai@uw.edu
Mentor since: 2016


Daniel HoangDaniel Hoang
Senior Associate, Point B Management Consultants
UW Economics BA ’03
dhoang@pointb.com
Mentor since: 2013


Shane Hoover
Investment Adviser, Hoover Capital
UW Economics BA '95
shanehoover@hoovercapital.net
Mentor since: 2016


Martina Ji
Senior Associate, KPMG LLP
UW Economics BA '12
martinaji28@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2015


Kerry KahlKerry Kahl
Senior Director Technology Compliance, Financial Management, UW
UW Economics BA ’73
kkahl@uw.edu
Mentor since: 2012


Jeff Lewis Jeff Lewis
VP Regional Account Manager, Bluepoint Solutions
UW Economics BA ’89
jeff.s.lewis@frontier.com
Mentor since: 2012


Pinky Li
Product Management Analyst, Allstate Insurance
UW Economics BS '15
hyperpearl.li@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2015


Jordan Louie
Capital Markets Analyst, Jones Lang LaSalle
UW Economics BS '11
jlouie89@outlook.com
Mentor since: 2015


Mourya Mamidala
Business Career Foundation Program, The Boeing Company
UW Economics BS '15, BA Math '15
mm_dala@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2017


David A. Miller, JD
Senior V.P. and General Counsel, T-Mobile USA
UW Economics BA ’82
davem1029@gmail.com 
Mentor since: 2013


Steve Mitchell
Managing Account Executive, Traveler's
UW Economics BA '97
slmitche@travelers.com
Mentor since: 2015


Emily Mungo
Health and Benefits Actuarial Specialist, Aon Hewitt
UW Economics BS '14
emily.shettel@aonhewitt.com
Mentor since: 2015


Roger Myklebust, JD
Construction Lawyer, Ryan Swanson & Cleveland
UW Economics BA '69, UW JD '72
myklebust@ryanlaw.com
Mentor since: 2016


Krisztina Nagy, PhDKrisztina Nagy, PhD
Assistant Professor of Economics, Pacific Lutheran University
UW Economics PhD ’11
nagyka@plu.edu
Mentor since: 2012


Paul Ng, JDPaul Ng, JD *based in Los Angeles, CA
Director, Capital Markets (retired), NHSA
UW Economics BA ’75, UC Berkeley (Boalt Hall) JD '78
fincase@yahoo.com
Mentor since: 2013


Judy Nickelson
Buyer II, Fred Hutch
UW Economics BA '15
judy.k.nickelson@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Cary OshimaCary Oshima
Associate Vice President, Cognizant Technology Solutions
UW Economics BA ’90
caryosh@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2012


Tom Olson, JD
Business and Estate Planning Lawyer, Helsell Fetterman LLP
UW Economics BA ’61, UW JD ’66
tolson@helsell.com
Mentor since: 2011


Julie Parisio-Roy
Director of Financial Planning and Wealth Manager, Badgley Phelps
UW Economics BA ’97
juliepr@badgley.com
Mentor since: 2012


Dimitri PereraDimitri Perera
Head of Project Management and Digital Services, copacino + fujikado
UW Economics BA ’08
dkperera@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2014


David Roe
Principal Consultant, Slalom Consulting
UW Economics BA '84
david.roe@live.com
Mentor since: 2016


Eric Rothlisberger, CFAEric Rothlisberger, CFA
Research Analyst, Vulcan Investments
UW Economics BS ’10
ericrothlis@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2012


Mary RothlisbergerMary Rothlisberger
Senior Actuarial Analyst, Trupanion
UW Economics BS ’10
mary.rothlisberger@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2012


Evan Sadler *based in Chicago, IL
Data Scientist, Civis Analytics
UW Economics BS '14, BS Mathematics '14
easadler@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Steven Sankaran *based in Cambridge, UK
MBA student, Cambridge University
UW Economics BS ’12
steven.sank@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2014


William C. (Bill) Severson, JDWilliam C. (Bill) Severson, JD
Owner and Partner, William C. Severson PLLC
UW Economics BA ’71, UW JD ’74
bill@seversonlaw.com
Mentor since: 2012


Merrile Sing, PhD
Senior Economist, U.S. Government Accountability Office
UW Economics BA ’78
singm@gao.gov
Mentor since: 2014


Bill Starkey, PhD
Senior Associate Treasurer, Asset Liability Management, University of Washington
UW Economics PhD '97
starkeyb@uw.edu
Mentor since: 2015


John Stephanus
President, The ARMCO Group
UW Economics BA ’80
johns@armco.net
Mentor since: 2012


Kyle StewartKyle Stewart
Investment and Fiduciary Services Associate, Wells Fargo Private Bank
UW Economics BA ’09
kyle.a.stew@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2014


Brian Stoner
Investment Analyst
UW Economics BS '02
brian@brianstoner.org
Mentor since: 2015


Craig Swanson
Founder/Owner, Redside Partners, LLC
UW Economics BA '89
craig@redsidepartners.com
Mentor since: 2015


Christina Tapia, PhDChristina Tapia, PhD
Northwest Economics, LLC
UW Economics PhD ’09, MA ’02, BA ’95
ctapia@uw.edu
Mentor since: 2011


Gene Tien, PhD *based in Palo Alto, CA
Director of Economics, Baker & McKenzie Consulting
UW Economics BA '94
gene.tien@bakermckenzie.com
Mentor since: 2016


Fortunato VegaFortunato Vega
Financial Advisor, Morgan Stanley Wealth Management
UW Business Administration BA ’79
fortunato911@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2014


David Vitale
Investment Analyst, Progeny 3, Inc.
UW Economics BA ’09, Finance BA ’09
vitale.davidv@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2013


Zhi Wan
Paid Search Marketing Manager, Amazon
UW Economics BA '10
zhiwwan@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Eileen Wang
Senior Business Process Manager, Microsoft
UW Economics BS '01
Eileeniwang@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2015


Brenden West
Consultant, Software Engineering
UW Economics BA '87
brendenw@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2015


Chris Witeck
Principal Technology Strategist, Citrix
UW Economics BA '93, Political Science '93
cwiteck@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Austin Wolfe
Analyst, Spencer Stuart
UW Economics 
Austin.s.wolfe@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2016


Stephen Wu
Retail Vendor Manager, Amazon
UW Economics BS '14
stephen.sy.wu@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2015


Olga Yang
Commercial Underwriter, Philadelphia Insurance Co.
UW Economics BA ’82
ooyangIII@hotmail.com
Mentor since: 2011


Walt ZabriskieWalt Zabriskie
Partner, NextLevel Enterprises
UW Economics BA ’71
waltzabriskie@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2011 


Kai ZhaoKai Zhao
Senior Product Manager, Amazon Web Services
UW Economics BS ’08
kaiz3e@gmail.com
Mentor since: 2013

The Department of Economics is grateful to our outstanding group of volunteer mentors, who, as busy professionals, nonetheless find time in their schedules to meet with Economics undergraduates to provide career guidance and help them develop the skills that will help them succeed after graduation. Thank you!